Usain Bolt wins 2017 Best International Athlete ESPY Award

Usain Bolt won the 2017 ESPY  Best International Athlete ESPY Award for his gold-winning performance in the 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay at Rio 2016.  Bolt who will retire this year completed an unprecedented ‘triple-treble’ at three consecutive Olympics. This is Usain Bolt’s third ESPY as he won the Best International Male Athlete award in 2009 and in 2013.

Bolt beat out the shortlist of Best International Athlete nominees that included boxer Canelo Alvarez, Real Madrid soccer star Cristiano Ronald, swimmer Katinka Hosszu and Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) fighter Conor McGregor.

Fans from around the world vote to select ESPY winners in over 35 categories including Best Athlete, Best Female Athlete, Best Team, Best Record-Breaking Performance, Best Play, Best Moment, Best Championship Performance, Best Game, Best Championship and Best Breakthrough Athlete.

The 2017 ESPY Awards was held on July 12th, 2017 at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles and hosted by former American football quarterback Peyton Manning.

Below is this year’s award winners:

Best Breakthrough Athlete: Dak Prescott

Best Game: Patriots, Falcons Super Bowl

Best Coach: Bob Hurley, Sr.

Best Moment: Chicago Cubs

Best Championship Performance: Kevin Durant

Best Record-Breaking Performance: Michael Phelps

Best Play: Aaron Rodgers/Jared Cook

Best Female Athlete: Simone Biles

Best Male Athlete: Russell Westbrook

Best Team: Golden State Warriors

Best Upset: Mississippi State defeats U Conn

Best NFL Player: Aaron Rodgers

Best WNBA Player: Candace Parker

Best Male College Athlete: DeShaun Watson

Best Female College Athlete: Kelly Barnhill

Best Female Action Sports Athlete: Anna Gasser

Best Male US Olympic Athlete: Michael Phelps

Best Female US Olympic Athlete: Simone Biles

Best Male Athlete with a Disability: Steve Serio

Best Female Athlete with a Disability: Becca Meyers

Best Comeback Athlete: Jordy Nelson

Best International Athlete: Usain Bolt

Best NBA Player: LeBron James

Best MLB Player: Mike Trout

Best NHL Player: Sidney Crosby

Best Driver: Lewis Hamilton

Best Male Action Sports Athlete: Mark McMorris

Best Fighter: Demetrious Johnson

Best Male Golfer: Sergio Garcia

Best Female Golfer: Ariya Jutanugarn

Best Male Tennis Player: Roger Federer

Best Female Tennis Player: Serena Williams

Best MLS Player: David Villa

Best Jockey: John Velazquez

Best Bowler: Jason Belmonte


Jimmy V Award for Perseverance: Jarrius Robertson

Arthur Ashe Award for Courage: Eunice Kennedy Shriver

Pat Tillman Award for Service: Israel Del Toro

Icon Award: Vin Scully

About the ESPY
An ESPY Award (short for Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly Award) is an accolade currently presented by the American broadcast television network ABC, and previously ESPN, to recognize individual and team athletic achievement and other sports-related performance during the calendar year preceding a given annual ceremony. The first ESPYs were awarded in 1993.