ANSA Caribbean Awards for Excellence Given to Jamaicans, Kimala Bennett and Michael Taylor

Awards for Excellence Given Kimala Bennett

Jamaicans Kimala Bennett and Michael Taylor have each been honored with the Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Award for Excellence (ANSCAFE) for 2019. The award is given in recognition of individuals in the Caribbean region who excel in the areas of arts and letters, entrepreneurship, public and civic contributions, and science and technology. Kimala Bennett was recognized for her efforts in entrepreneurship, while Professor Michael Taylor received the award for his work in the science and technology category.

Bennett graduated from Mount Holyoke College in Massachusetts, and the frustration she experienced when trying to start a business after she returned home to Jamaica led her to write the book “Starting a Business in Jamaica” so she could share what she had learned with other potential entrepreneurs.

Professor Michael Taylor

Professor Michael Taylor

Professor Taylor is Deputy Dean, Senior Lecturer, and Professor of Physics at the University of the West Indies where he specializes in Environmental Physics, Caribbean Climate Variability, Climatology, and Climate Change.

Other award recipients included Danielle Dieffenthaller of Trinidad and Tobago, who was honored in the category of arts and letters, and Corey Lane of Barbados, who received the award for public and civic contributions. The awards will be presented at the ANSA McAl Foundation, the philanthropic unit of the ANSA McAl Group, which is based in Trinidad. The ceremony will be held in Barbados on March 30, 2019,

The Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence were instituted by Dr. Anthony N. Sabga, one of the most celebrated entrepreneurs in the Caribbean region, as well as the founder and Chairman Emeritus of the ANSA McAL Group of Companies in Trinidad and Tobago. The awards are designed to honor and reward excellence in the Caribbean and to develop an awareness of the contributions made to benefit the people of the Caribbean and the world. The Sabga awards program is the only entity of its kind in the region. The program began in 2005, with the first winners named in 2006. These winners received a cash prize of US$83,000, a gold medal, and a citation.

Photo: Facebook

About the author

Staff Writer