The Kenilworth ruins represent some of the most impressive 18th century industrial constructions on the island and stand as memorials to a time when “sugar was king.” Located in Hanover, the property was originally known as Maggotty, which is the name of the river that runs through it. The estate received its first mention in the Crop Accounts of 1757 and at the time was owned by John Blagrove. In that year, the estate produced 132 hogsheads of sugar, 43 puncheons of rum and 50 casks of molasses. By 1819, the production rate had dropped dramatically, and it continued to decline from then on. It became known as Kenilworth by 1882, although there is no record of why the name changed. In that year it comprised 2,560 acres and by 1938 it was used to grow coconuts and bananas. Near the ruins is a small burial ground featuring a marker in memory of Thomas Blagrove Esq, a representative for Hanover Parish who died in 1755 at the age of 22. The ruins consist of a stone mill house, a boiling house, and other facilities for processing sugar. All are made of stone from the neighboring Maggotty River.
About 365 Things to Do, See and Eat in Jamaica
Jamaica has so many unique foods, places and events to offer. These things are often missed by visitors to Jamaica and even locals. Our goal is to have you try new things and see what Jamaica has to fully offer with something to do 365 days of the year. Please note that these are all our opinions and we are always open to suggestions.
Photo Source: Michael W. Mosley