Creative Writing Exhibition Begins Island-Wide Tour

The award-winning pieces of the 2015 Jamaica Creative Writing Competition are being showcased in the competition’s annual island-wide tour from August 10, 2015 to March 31, 2016. The winning pieces will be hosted in libraries across all 14 parishes to give members of the public the opportunity to appreciate and recognize the award-winning works.

The pieces being showcased are from amateur and professional writers who entered their creative works in the categories: Poetry, Short Stories, Novels, Essays and Plays. In addition, this year also saw the introduction of two themes to the competition under which persons could write and win special prizes: “Road Safety Responsibility” and “Trafficking in Persons”.

The tour began in Kingston at the National Library of Jamaica on Monday, August 10 and will conclude on August 21. The Exhibition will then move to the parish libraries, starting with St. Andrew, which will have its opportunity to showcase the outstanding pieces from August 25 to September 8. From September 10 to 24, the Exhibition will be in St. Mary and in St. Ann from September 28 to October 9 and in Trelawny October 13 to 28. For St. James, the tour will get underway October 30 to November 13; Hanover, November 17 to December 1; Westmoreland, December 3 to 17, and St. Elizabeth, December 21 to January 5.

For the New Year, 2015, persons in Manchester will be able to observe the Exhibition from January 7 to 21; St. Clarendon, January 25 to February 5; St. Catherine, February 9 to February 24; St. Thomas, February 26 to March 11 and Portland, March 15 to March 31.

The Jamaica Cultural Development Commission (JCDC) Jamaica Creative Writing Competition has been one of the best channels of providing writers with the opportunity of recognizing and validating their writing talent, while showcasing and promoting writers and their original work.

The annual awards ceremony held recently awarded top writers with cash prizes, certificates of merit, medals and trophies. Sean Harrison was named the Best Overall Writer for the second year in a row, while 2nd place was given to Collette Robinson who was also named Outstanding Writer. The third place and Special Writer Award was copped by Lergon Parris and 4th place and Choice Writer Award given to Leiso Edwards. Noteworthy writer, Danielle Willie was given 5th place.

About the author

Staff Writer