IRAWMA Announces Performers for their 2016 Ceremony in Coral Springs, Florida

With only 3 weeks left until the longest running award ceremony for Reggae & World music takes place, ‘Martins International’ announces this year’s performers for the 2016 IRAWMA Awards. On October 2, inside the Coral Springs Center for the Arts, attendees can expect a diverse mix of artists that will grace the stage. This year’s performers are Tarrus Riley- Dean Fraser & The Black Soil Band (Jamaica), Gramps Morgan of Morgan Heritage (Jamaica), Nesbeth (Jamaica), Shatta Wale (Africa), Stonebwoy (Africa), The Cables (Jamaica), Don Andre (Jamaica), X-Tassy (Haiti), Lt. Stitchie (Jamaica), Daniel Musgrove, Kay Morris (Gospel Act), Mylo Nandez (Latin Artist), Jamaican/African Dance Troops, with more to be added.

The 2016 IRAWMA Award will also recognize IRIE FM (Jamaica), and VP Records for their contributions to the music industry with the ‘Special Legacy Award.’

In honor of hosting the IRAWMA Awards in one of the biggest diasporas for the Caribbean community, South Florida, 3 Jamaicans living in Florida will be awarded for their ‘Outstanding Contribution to the Music Industry.’ Recipients are songwriter Danny Breakenridge, drummer Desmond Gaynor- Code Red Band and Radio DJ, Mikey Brown, of Mikey B. Promotions and WAVS FM.

The celebration ceremony will be hosted by Comedian and DanceMaster G.T. Taylor of IRIE Fm Radio in Jamaica, Tanto Irie of Hot 105 FM and Yvette Marshall of Wiz Communication and WAVS Radio. The VIP Reception will be hosted by Comedian Gary Gunter with music by DJ P.E.A.C.E.

In addition, more than 160 reggae and world music entertainers were nominated to compete in more than 30 categories. The deadline for voting has been EXTENDED September 15th, 2016.

About the author

Staff Writer