Jamaica College Old Boys Association of New York to Mark 25th Anniversary with New York City Gala, October 3rd, 2015

Celebrating 25 years of service, the Jamaica College Old Boys Association of New York Inc. will host its Silver Anniversary Banquet, Saturday October 3, 2015. The gala will be hosted at the LaGuardia Plaza Hotel, Queens, New York with a 7:30 pm start.

In keeping with JCOBA-NY’s expansive view of its mission, the event is dual themed: “Music Matters – JC’s influence on the evolution of Jamaican music” and “Trailblazers – Celebrating Business and Community Icons” The main address will be delivered by guest speaker, the Honorable Lisa Hanna, Minister of Youth and Culture for Jamaica and Member of Parliament.

Commenting on the significance of the occasion, Michael McDonald, President of JCOBA-NY said “We are very than
kful for the opportunity to contribute 25 years of service to JC and Jamaica… and we see this Awards Banquet as the springboard for the next 25. JCOBA is delighted that so many luminaries have consented to celebrate with us. We will be especially pleased to welcome Honorable Minister Lisa Hanna to New York to share our celebration”.
Informed sources suggest that a major announcement regarding JC’s ground-breaking Robotics and STEM programs may be made at the event.

The Music Matters segment features a stellar line up of honorees: Monty Alexander – Jamaica’s and one of the world’s finest jazz pianists, Michael “Ibo” Cooper – A key founder of the Third World band
 and Ian & Roger Lewis – Founders of Inner Circle band

The outstanding Trailblazer awardees are:
• Lowell Hawthorne, founder of Golden Krust Caribbean Bakery & Grill
• Steven Hill, a founder of Caribbean International Network
• Pat Chin, a founder of VP Records
• Ian Forbes and Dr. Wyman Bethune, indispensable stalwarts of the JC support fraternity

Seating is limited. The public is urged to purchase tickets early to ensure entry. Event-Line: +1 (516) 986-7836 // Connect: [email protected]// Media WebLink: JCOBANY-25

About the author

Staff Writer